In A Nutshell

Hello all,

My name is Natalie Kreider. I’m a third year English Ed student (surprise, surprise), minoring in Creative Writing. There’s nothing like having to read a boring biography, so I’ll try and make mine interesting ūüôā Guess the main reason why I started studying English was because I was good at writing. The fun type of writing, though, like epic tales of adventure. I want to be the next J.K. Rowling, but that’s a high expectation so I’ll settle for just being a published author. When I was a kid, I used to set up a make-believe school and make desks for my stuffed-animal students. I didn’t stop there–I had a gradebook, a projector, lesson plans, homework assignments, a student code of conduct, the whole nine yards. I even had a “student” (in otherwords, a stuffed animal dog) in a wheelchair and an ELL learner (stuffed animal cat). I did all this when I was only nine years old. Guess you could say I was destined to be a teacher! But for a long time I didn’t know what I wanted to be. For the beginning part of high school I was dead set on being a veterinarian, and then I wanted to be an anthropologist, and then a paleontologist. But it was my short fiction teacher my senior year who changed my mind–English is awesome, it’s what I’m good at, and I can teach it. And so, I stayed at home (I’m from Fort Collins), went to CSU with a declared major, and halfway through my freshman year almost changed career paths completely. I wanted to be a criminologist. I didn’t change, though, because I started volunteering at Poudre School District, tutoring kids and helping out the teachers, and fell in love with the atmosphere. Especially after working this summer at PSD, I know I want to be a teacher and there’s no other major that would satisfy me (as you can tell, I’ve certainly thought about a plethora of other majors). As an educator, I won’t have the same respect, pay, or societal admiration I would if I was a¬†criminologist, or paleontologist, or veterinarian. I come across the “that’s so great” syndrome to nearly everyone I meet–it’s bothersome, especially when I stand next to my PhD Chemical Engineer of a brother. But it doesn’t matter–being a teacher comes from the heart and a passion to do it. As a teacher, you want to help, and that’s exactly what I want to do! I’m not sure where I want to take this teaching certificate, I have several plans for after I graduate. I might go to Alaska. Or I might go overseas (Australia, maybe?). My best friend left to go study abroad in Argentina this year, and she’s inspired me to travel, too. I also have an interest in going back to school for a Master’s or PhD in Educational Leadership or Principal Licensure. Maybe be a principal of a school one day, or a¬†university¬†professor? However it works out, I’ll be happy to be an educator, and know I’m making my parents proud (who are also public school educators here in Fort Collins). And maybe, just maybe, my long-term dream of having my books on the shelves of Barnes and Noble will come true. We’ll see…just gotta take it one step at a time.

Leave a Reply

