Public Introduction

My name is Heather and I am a junior English education major with the goal of becoming a high school teacher for juniors and seniors. As an educator, I am hoping to be able to engage and excite my students; to make learning fun and interesting, but at the same time challenging and something they have to work hard on. As an educator in the 21st century, I believe it is also my job to be somewhat of an entertainer; to learn how to command the attention of my classroom and keep them enthralled and intrigued until the end of every lesson. Some of the best professors I have had here at CSU were also, what I would consider, to be some of the most amazing entertainers. I believe that was what gave them an edge above the other teachers and made them so fascinating to learn from and listen to. As an educator I believe I also need to find the proper balance between teacher, friend, role model, and authority figure. I want to be able to have close, personal relationships with my students, but at the same time remain professional and be someone whom they respect and look up to. Ultimately, I am hoping to make a lasting impression on my students and have the ability to inspire them in all different facets of their lives. I want every one of my students to feel like they are cared for not only on an academic level, but a personal level as well.  I want to be involved and at the end of the day, I want to be confident in knowing that I gave every student the best education and opportunities that I possibly could, and inspired them to strive for greatness in their own lives. Whatever they decide to do in the future, I want them to always carry with them the lessons they learned inside my classroom. 

Leave a Reply

