From the Student’s Side of the Desk

As I come closer and closer to the end of my college career I find myself continuously being asked the same question: what kind of teacher do you want to be? While I could easily go on a multiple page rant about how I will essentially be the best and most inspiring teacher ever, I know that I’m not being terribly realistic. That sounds insanely stupid I know. After all, aren’t we supposed to strive for becoming the best in our chosen profession? I say yes and no. While I believe that each one of us must aspire to become something greater than we currently are, I also believe that we must aspire to be our best instead of the best.

Personally, I’ll admit I don’t currently have any sort of specific plan as to how to achieve my best (I often find myself still feeling more on the student’s side of the desk), I just know that I want to be able to be a good teacher. I want to be one of those teachers that kids can look back on and appreciate. That is my goal for now. However, I do have some sort of idea of how I want to be as an educator (I’m not totally running around in the dark). I’d like to think I’ve seen enough of the school system (both good and bad) to determine what I want to emulate and what I’d like to leave behind. I’d like to think that when the time comes that I can take these experiences and use them as tools to get to where I want to be. So essentially what I’m saying in a round-about way is that I’m just seeing where the current takes me in terms of my exact identity as an educator. However, while my ideas of teaching may change, (and I’m betting they will) I am confident in knowing that I will always have three constants: I want to be a teacher, I want to be a good teacher, and I want to be able to love my job.

Until next time,

Anna Burris

About spiffybanana24

I'm just an English Education student learning to take things one day at a time.

Leave a Reply

