Sir Ken Robinson: Do Schools Kill Creativity?

I know that this video may be a little dated, but i honestly think its important that anyone aspiring to be a teacher should watch it. I think that its important for as many people as possible to watch this video actually, but i’m happy just sharing it with the class for now. I’ve shown this video in my past educ. class, and i’ve shared it with plenty of my friends and family, and it usually seems that people like it. Although it is a little bit long, you’re going to have to trust me that every minute is worth watching. As stated by the description on YouTube, “Sir Ken Robinson makes an entertaining and profoundly moving case for creating an education system that nurtures (rather than undermines) creativity.” The video encompasses much more than that though. The examples that Sir Ken Robinson uses in the story seem to be very true representations of cases that happen in schools on a day-to-day basis.

Watching this video (over and over again) has given me new ideas about what it means to be a teacher. Alot of the time i find it hard to answer what being a teacher really means to me, or i find it hard to articulate why exactly i want to be a teacher, and what goals i have for my future students. Although this video hasn’t given me my exact answers, it has continued to give me inspiration to find those answers. All of the parts of the video are valuable, but i find that the section that seems the most true to me is when Robinson describes how “wrongness” is seen in our education system. I think that i find this extremely appealing because i know exactly what he’s talking about, as I’m sure most of us do. Throughout my education, i remember specific times where i sat in classrooms and refused to raise my hand to answer a question that i was 99% sure i was right about, because i was afraid of the 1% chance that it was wrong. I would say that many of us feel this way currently, or have felt this way innumerable times before, and those who haven’t are the extreme minority.

Again, i dont think that i can stress enough how important i think this video is, and how valuable the ideas behind it are.

About alexdenu

Senior english major at Colostate University. Publishing, self-publishing, e-books, OCR corrections, reading, lit analysis etc.

One thought on “Sir Ken Robinson: Do Schools Kill Creativity?

  1. […] understand. Alex Denu, another student in my CO301D course already posted about this video on our class blog, but I went back to it today and I think it’s important to discuss a few of the main points […]

Leave a Reply

