The Role of Digital Technologies in Learning from a Canadian study…

 The linkage: http://www.eric.ed.gov/PDFS/EJ968190.pdf
         So I know most, if not all of us will end up teaching in the United States, but after reading an article from a Canadian Academic Journal, I found that Canada is pretty similar to us. Kinda crazy right?

…okay, not that crazy at all really, BUT it was the only article I found that interested me right away and that I felt like blogging about.

In this study, author Martha Gabriel and her colleagues conducted research on first-year university students, asking them about how the use digital technologies in and outside of the classroom for learning purposes.

The results are typical in that the students use digital technologies for web browsing, video watching, blogging, keeping up with homework assignments, recording notes and lectures, etc.

What interested me the most was not how Canadians use their laptops for purposes just like ours, but how professors are expected to keep up with all these digital technologies.

It made me think…”if Twitter is still around when I become a teacher, I will HAVE to get one if I want to stay up to date and hip with my students.” I DON’T WANT A TWITTER!

Beyond that, it scares me to think about what technologies will be prominent when I actually am a teacher. I consider myself pretty tech-saavy, but that’s because I am young. What happens when I am 60 years old and have to keep up with the youngsters?! I might become lost in the abyss of a new digital age…

The article does not exactly focus on this concept, but it made me focus on the fact that teachers have to be adaptable to new learning technologies and be able to evolve as digital technology in the classroom does. This all clearly isn’t a revolutionary thought or anything, but it’s definitely something to think about as we make strides towards becoming teachers…

 

 

Leave a Reply

