Youth For Human Rights Video: Article #26, Right to Education, Tolerance, Friendship & Understanding

I guess you can say that this video is a little bit corny… but it is still interesting to watch. My mom worked for UNICEF and as a child I was always presented with the Rights of the Child. I was the kid who didn’t like going to school, until I found out that there are kids in the world that don’t have a school to go to. This is when I realized that I wanted to make sure that I could be a part of the process in helping others love to learn and be aware of the world around us. In most of our education classes we’ve learned that education and literacy is ever evolving. It has become the job of teachers to be culturally aware and promote education in those fields. This is something that I hope to do and I’m curious to know if other’s feel the same?

-Margot Girerd-Barclay

 

Youth For Human Rights Video: Article #26, Right to Education, Tolerance, Friendship & Understanding.

One thought on “Youth For Human Rights Video: Article #26, Right to Education, Tolerance, Friendship & Understanding

  1. tealanaronn says:

    Margot- corny or not, this video creates an impact. The privileged rarely take a moment to view a glimps of another’s world. It takes knowing someone of a different culture to truly grasp the idea of what their world is like. It is astonishing to think that a lot of adolescents and even grownups take education for granted. Education is something we have known our entire lives. It is the normal.
    I will admit: sometimes I am greedy and refuse to believe commercials telling me to donate money to countries that do not have schools. How can they not have schools? It is ridiculous to think we have grown in a culture so blessed to even have the right to education. This video was eye opening and definitely more impactful when you see the happiness on the girls face to go to school.

Leave a Reply

