I have no idea how I feel about this but I found it interesting. I feel like it makes me feel guilty for being a white american… everything seems to be so much easier; sad truth, but truth non-the-less. Maybe thats not how I feel about this article at all! I guess im still trying to figure that out… whatever. It just bothered me.

http://latimesblogs.latimes.com/lanow/2012/08/mojave-desert-parents-go-to-court-over-charter-school.html

 

Im sorry but you’ll just have to copy and paste the website into your search bar because I can’t get the link thing to work… technology hates me.

“White mans guilt”?

About shelbyjayy

I guess thats something you'll just have to figure out yourself. Maybe through this blog, maybe through Facebook, maybe through stalking me... or maybe... sitting and having coffee with me

One thought on ““White mans guilt”?

  1. lexyeaggs says:

    Some of the stuff in this article was a little foggy to me… I wish they had given more detail as to where the 90 parents felt that they were misled, or why they aren’t doing a secret ballot right now to get a more concise idea of what type of action needs to be undertaken for that low performing elementary school. I do like the idea of the parent-trigger law, and need to do more research as to what it actually entails.
    I was a little confused by your response though- what do you mean by white mans guilt? I didn’t see any statistics in the article about this being a race issue, or exactly what the latino-caucasian ration is in this school. Do you think that the discrepancies are actually being caused by race, and not a miscount? It’d be a major shame if it was, but all signs point to confusion into what the parents thought they were rallying for and who was actually surveyed…. I guess we need more information for any major conclusions, but I saw it more about logistics and red tape then about ethnicity.

Leave a Reply

