Punctuation Rap

So as I was perusing the vast internet hoarding board known as Pinterest, I happened across this little gem. Take a look….

While this little video is something that I find vastly entertaining (it’s a far cry from Momma Said Knock you Out) I started wondering about how effective something like this is on kids. Obviously, we re past the age of needing punctuation instruction (I find myself suddenly very conscious of my comas) but is the method in which it’s presented beneficial?

I’m tempted to say yes and I’ll tell you why. For all of my high school years I was heavily involved in the orchestra program at my school so I very much believe in the benefits of music. I think that students are much more likely to remember things when there is a certain rhythm and rhyme to them. For example, I’m sure many of us grew up listening to this song….

I don’t know about you, but to this day I can still recall this information. Then there’s the “i before e except after c” rhyme. I’ll stop with the examples now, but needless to say, incorporating some element of music into lessons seems to have a longer lasting impact on students. Now I realize that both these examples are for younger kids, but I think the idea still remains the same. Personally, I think that as teachers, it would be beneficial to our students to try to include some sort of musical element into our curriculum.

Well…short post this time but I’ll leave it there to swirl around in your minds a bit.

Until next time,

Anna B.

PS. Remember punctuation is important! It’s the difference between knowing your shit and knowing you’re shit.

About spiffybanana24

I'm just an English Education student learning to take things one day at a time.

Leave a Reply

