Campus Corps! IT’S AWESOME

So, I got to thinking last night after my first night with Campus Corps, and I really don’t know where to begin besides the fact that EVERY SINGLE ONE OF YOU SHOULD DO IT! It’s simply amazing! What is it you ask? Well let me start with that. Campus Corps is a 3 credit, one of the most fun classes you will ever have. Essentially you are a mentor to a kid typically with some sort of delinquency issue. Of course, not all of them are court ordered, most of them choose to come back because they love it so much! Here is the basic schedule of the night and what you do with your mentee: 

3:00-4:00–post-lab where you talk about the rest of the night and also some interesting readings that were assigned for that night

4:00-4:30–Walk and talk. This is amazing because most of these kids have never been on CSU campus, let alone any college campus. A lot of them don’t have very many goals, and just need a role model in their life. Walk and talk is awesome because you get to show them awesome parts of campus, what it means to be part of a diverse community, and a sense of belonging. 

4:30-5:30–Supporting school success. This is awesome seeing how we are all going to be teachers, lets put ourselves to use! It is extremely challenging, especially the mentee that I have because he absolutely hates school. He wants nothing to do with it, although he does enjoy science. It’s such an amazing challenge because we will have students like these in our classrooms, and it’s our jobs to make it entertaining and fun so they grow to like it!

5:30-6:00–Dinner. This may seem like the most unimportant part, but it’s actually one of the most important parts. Some of these kids don’t get warm meals every night, let alone with their families. During Campus Corps, we are split into families and that’s literally what we call them. It was awesome because the first night my mentee asked if we were going to be with our families all the time. I was happy because I didn’t know how kids would react to having it called a family, but they loved it. 

6:00-8:00–Each kid gets to sign up for two activities! It’s great because this year I am on a STEM night, so it’s incorporating learning into these fun activities as well. For example, last night my mentee signed up for science experiments. It was so much fun because even though we were doing cool activities, it was interesting to see why they did that and what made that happen, and they loved it as well!

So far Campus Corps has been a GREAT experience, and I just wanted to get it out there how awesome it is because I think everyone in our class becoming teachers would be great influences in these kids’ lives. I’m not by any means trying to persuade people into doing it, I just wished I would have known sooner because I would have gotten involved right from the start of my transition to CSU! If you guys have any questions let me know 🙂

~Fairon 

About fbleam

come talk to me :)

2 thoughts on “Campus Corps! IT’S AWESOME

  1. tealanaronn says:

    It is so interesting to stumble upon this post because I was JUST (like literally an hour ago) thinking about doing this! I am skeptical just because I am always so scared to do new things. I would love to talk to you about this because it seems super interesting and it sounds like something I would really enjoy (once I get past my fear of branching out). I think it is meant to be and this post convinced me to apply. Thank you!

    Tealana

  2. fbleam says:

    You are welcome! Feel free to talk to me anytime!!! You would LOVE it!

Leave a Reply

