“What are you interested in?”

“What are you interested in?” This was the question that Dr. Garcia kept asking us as we were coming up with ideas for our genre papers. This question got me thinking…

The first thing that popped into my head was “Well,  as of right now, I am interested in graduating.” But, that’s not what Dr. Garcia was asking. What interests me about education? When I thought about it longer I was kind of still at a loss. I suppose ESL interests me, I would like to know how to develop relationships with my students, and I guess in general, I just want to know that I am going to make it as a teacher. Once again I was not sure how to make this into my paper #1.  So, now on top of not knowing what to write about I wasn’t even sure why I was in the education program at all. Why do I want to be a teacher if I have no interests in education? Is this simply my fall back major because English was easy for me and I couldn’t think of any other job?

This assignment was (is) frustrating to me. I was unable to come up with ideas because I couldn’t get past the lack of structure. This is not what I should have been focusing on. I should have been focusing on that question, “What are you interested in?”

I don’t know if I really have an answer yet, and I feel like I am rambling to gather my thoughts. So, I will simply leave you all with a question: What are you interested in? I mean, what is your passion? Do you have a passion for education? Why are you here?

One thought on ““What are you interested in?”

  1. tealanaronn says:

    Selfishly, I love being in charge. It is thrilling to me to know I am the person kids look up to whether they admit it or not. Humbly, I really think I can be a good teacher and help kids reach their goals in life. Teachers inspire children to grow and learn and create. Dont you want to be apart of that amazingness? I can’t pinpoint my exact ‘what are you interested in?’ question, but I will tell you this…teachers give and giving is a great feeling.

Leave a Reply

