Not everyone can be a teacher, but a teacher can come from anyone

I really love this article that I read; it inspired the title of this blog in that a teacher doesn’t necessarily have to be a licensed professional- a teacher just has to be someone who teaches others a lesson. ANY lesson is valid 🙂

Here is the link, ladies and gents and professors.

Lizzie Velasquez is such an inspiring woman to me, after reading this article. How can a person go through so much criticism and yet still come up on top with a bright and strong attitude? I think we can all learn from Lizzie as future teachers in that some of our students WILL not like us. We have to remain strong and positive individuals regardless of our students’ opinions. They may try and break us down, and be awful little creatures, but it’s up to us to not let it bring us down in our teaching profession.

Also, I think that matter where we are, whether it be in the classroom or not, we need to keep teaching. We need to keep guiding others around us to knowledge and powerful lessons of life. I am getting a little cheesy, but hey, cheese is good and positive! I just want it to be our goal to never stop lighting the way for people around us.

I end with my favorite quote– I’ve probably posted it before, but it’s a good one.

A good teacher is like a candle – it consumes itself to light the way for others. 

~Mustafa Kemal Atatürk

One thought on “Not everyone can be a teacher, but a teacher can come from anyone

  1. Devyn,

    This was a very moving story that you posted. I was complaining about how my life is going right now, but after reading this article, I’ll just shut up now and be happy with what I have. But, you are right in how this story can teach us as future teachers to know that not every student we do come across will not like us 100%. The true test that we will face will not be these challenging students, but the inner determination that we must possess as teachers to continue to teach these difficult students to the best of our ability. I also enjoyed the quote that you posted with this.

Leave a Reply

