Literacy Autobiography

I am going to follow in the footsteps of one of my fellow classmates and post a part of my “Literacy Autobiography,” which i wrote for a different class. Am i just using this as a blog post because the other post that i wrote for today was apparently deleted when i clicked the “publish post” button? most likely. But i promise something new and creative is in store for thursday. 

Here ya go!

        This may be very different than my fellow students, but I don’t remember the day that I learned to read, or the day that I learned how to write, but I assume (and hope) that it was sometime before I reached the age of 8. In all reality, I do find it very strange that I don’t have any recollection of this incredibly momentous occasion. It’s not necessarily strange that the specific day I learned how to read/write isn’t stored in my memory bank, but it is strange that I have no idea how my knowledge was built up to that day (or days). The base of my knowledge for reading and writing most likely came from my mom either reading to me when I was a small child, or from her attempting to have me do small writing practices. Other than my mom, and partially my dad, reading to me, I think that I have to assume that I learned the rest of my reading and writing abilities early in my schooling. From the depths of the literary masterpieces such as “The Lorax,” and “Goosebumps,” and from my own beautifully written pieces like “King Dodo and the Trolls” (written in a my Garfield journal), emerged a slightly competent reader and writer. Throughout elementary, middle, and even high school, I enjoyed and excelled in my English classes. Both reading and writing just seemed to be something that was in my natural skill set, at least in comparison to math and the sciences. Because of this, I have a positive memory of most of my assignments that centered on these topics. My English classes are mainly what I remember these assignments in, but of course reading and writing extended to almost every class that I was enrolled in. 

My career as a student focused on Literature extended into my collegiate career when I decided to become an English major. As such, I would say that the majority of my free time is taken up by reading of one sort or another. Whether it’s for a class, or purely for my own gain, 60% of my free time seems to be devoted to reading. For the most part, I do enjoy the readings that I’m assigned to (which is probably because I take classes such as Adolescents lit where I’m “required” to read “The Hunger Games”) but in my free time, there isn’t exactly one genre that I read more than any other. Science fiction and Fantasy books seem to have taken up most of my free time recently, but I wouldn’t say that’s reflective of my strongest interests. As far as my reading goes, I feel very positive. Reading has taken up major chunks of my life, and through those chunks I have become a strong and confident reader. As far as my writing, however, I absolutely don’t feel that I’ve achieved anything near my full potential, and I feel that I have room and room and room to improve in it.

The importance of reading and writing should be absolutely obvious to anyone who has learned how to read and/or write. They are both invaluable skills that allow individuals to communicate their own ideas, and allows them to comprehend others thoughts and ideas. The importance of reading and writing are especially prevalent in my content area of English education. English classes are meant to focus and enhance these specific skills in individual students, and should allow them to feel confident in both. As a teacher, I hope that I will be able to create an atmosphere where my passion for reading and writing allow for conditions where my students are able to flourish as readers and writers. 

 

About alexdenu

Senior english major at Colostate University. Publishing, self-publishing, e-books, OCR corrections, reading, lit analysis etc.

Leave a Reply

