It’s The Little Things In Life :)

One reason why I absolutely love being in this major is because it keeps me in perspective each and everyday. During my Phase II of the Education licensure I am currently in Boltz Middle School and am loving it! I decided that I have been wanting to get more involved each day so I decided to volunteer for this Aspire program that is put on by the school. It’s for middle school girls in grades 6th-8th who have low self-esteem, need help with homework, and just an extra push in life. I thought this sounded like a great opportunity so I jumped on it! I went in today to get started and at first didn’t really know what to do. I didn’t know any of  the girls yet and didn’t really know what to expect from this but it ended up being an amazing experience for me. I will only be doing this today and next Thursday unfortunately because my schedule is so packed this year, but the point I’m trying to get to is what really put me back into perspective after doing this today. 

During the first hour the girls get to do an activity that is physical because most of them don’t do much. The activity was martial arts. At first when I heard this I literally thought oh man….are these girls going to like doing this? THE GUY WAS AMAZING! HOLY COW! He went through and was so awesome with these girls I can’t even explain it. The biggest moment that stood out to me was when he had all the girls close their eyes and asked them, “Do any of you girls ever think that something isn’t fair?” All of the girls raised their hands, then he had them open their eyes. He goes, “Want to know something that wasn’t fair in my life? My father, when I was four years old, got diagnosed with terminal cancer. That means he isn’t going to live very long. I was angry and confused. He took my brother and I to a martial arts place where I took my anger out every single day of my life. I have been doing this for eighteen years. When I was six years old, I knew that I wanted to have my own martial arts place. Guess how many I have? Six.” I was literally almost in tears. Then he continued, “I went through the hardest struggle probably any four year old could go through, but guess what I made it to where I want to be. I learned that I am that captain in my own life.” 

I really wish that I could have video taped how amazing he was with these young girls. Only twenty-five and so successful because everyday he worked harder and harder to fulfill his dreams and make his dad proud. It truly is the little things in life, even though this was a big thing for him. He really put me back into perspective today because I went to this volunteer thing not feeling very well, and I almost didn’t go. I am so fortunate that I went because everyday we will learn something more, because our profession is amazing. My passion continues to grow more and more each day 🙂 

Let me know if you all have experienced any moments like these!

~Fairon 

About fbleam

come talk to me :)

Leave a Reply

