Bad Teacher

 

I google searched the image ‘bad teacher’ and these are a few pictures that popped up. I started thinking about the term ‘bad teacher’ and what it implied. In the movie ‘Bad Teacher’ Cameron Diaz is a bad teacher because she smokes in class, yells at the students, and sleeps when she is suppose to be teaching. In reality, I do not think you will find teachers like this. I think this type of ‘bad teacher’ is just in our imagination. The second ‘bad teacher’ was Snape. I was saddened by this because Snape is my second favorite character-behind the true hero of the Harry Potter Series, Nevill Longbottom. Snape puts up a front and is strict and hard on a lot of students-like a lot of teachers are- but I think Snape makes students better thinkers and overall, if you survive his class, you have grown and learned valuable information in the classroom. So, I do not believe Snape falls into the category of ‘bad teacher’. He is just a hard ass. I always complained about my hard ass teachers, but I did learn from them. The third picture was of some girl with a suductive look on her face. Now, those are not considered bad teachers, they are just pedophiles.

When it comes down to it- I do not know if anyone that is teaching is necessicarily a ‘bad teacher’. They are more like ‘teachers that need improving’. I do not know this for a fact, but I feel like there are a lot of people trying to get into the education system and there is a big enough pool to reach from that schools would be hiring teachers that do not know how to teach. I guess what I am trying to say is I think the passion for teaching is dwindling because we are always subject to taking notes straight from the board and not being able to communicate with peers in the classroom. Most of highschool was stagnet and boring- I took that as having a bad teacher. The teachers were not bad they just were not taught the tools on how to liven up a classroom. I think college is taking steps to do that though. I think in the future we will have a lot more student-centered learning and the teacher will be more like a guide in the classroom.

I do not think it is fair to determine someone as ‘bad’ when they are probably good for someone else. Everybody that I think is ‘good’ might be considered bad by a different student. I think we need to choose are words wisely and teach the way the class needs to be taught. If that means they like having to copy notes- then I will be that boring (to me it is boring) teacher. If they want to learn through activities, then we will do that!

 

I know that was a long ramble-but somewhere in there my thoughts make sense!

Tealana Hedgespeth

About tealanaronn

I am Tealana Ronn. I love writing, baking, Christmas, movies, poetry. I am obsessed with Matthew Gray Gubler, Transformers, Lady Gaga, and Sons of Anarchy. I love living, and helping others!

2 thoughts on “Bad Teacher

  1. mattcleland says:

    There are definitely bad teachers out there. There are even teachers who are pedophiles and alcoholics. I had a teacher at my high school that made it a personal goal to sleep with at least one newly graduated senior every year. And she regularly came in hungover. There was another teacher in my school who harassed (and once assaulted) JROTC students because she was still convinced it was the ’70s and hated the military. Another teacher regularly used profanity towards students. And another was the clichéd coach-teacher (movie worksheets and all). And that communist civics teacher… It has nothing to do with being boring.

    And I went to a very suburban school in the most competitive and wealthy district in Colorado Springs — a very affluent city. My old AP Lit teacher, whom I adore and hope to student-teach with, told me that it’s almost as competitive to get a job there as it is in Fort Collins.

    Now, I loved my high school. It was great and I had great teachers – but if bad eggs can make it into such an awesome school in such an awesome district in such an awesome city, then do you think the quality of teachers is going to be better in underprivileged and impoverished districts? Or in small-town schools?

    My point is; there are definitely bad teachers — and you’ll find them everywhere. The issue isn’t that they haven’t been trained, the issue is that they are bad teachers. My school and district offers great opportunities for teacher development (again, I know this from some of my awesome former teachers), but these teachers don’t take advantage of these opportunities or revert to old habits after trainings.

    The real issue is tenure.

    If a surgeon wasn’t “trained” correctly because he had left school 30 years ago, that would be unacceptable and he would be fired on the spot. Or if a plumber didn’t know how to fix your leaky faucet because it’s “too new,” he’d be out of a job.

    Most schools and districts (and states, I believe) require that teachers go through periodic trainings (Poudre is training all its teachers on those netbooks and technology in general, actually). If teachers fail to develop the necessary skill to serve their students, then they are, indeed, “bad.”

  2. mattcleland says:

    You’re totally right about Snape though. And you’re right that, more often than not, teachers aren’t really “bad” — they’re just not well liked.

    But there are some bad eggs out there…

Leave a Reply

