Dude, where’s my classroom?

I was curious and looked up job outlooks for teachers. Good news, guys, if you didn’t already know the possibility of finding a job outside of college looks to be pretty high for us. Because of the baby boomers retiring, school districts are hoping to replace this generation with ours. Although it was clearly stated in the handful of websites I read that the demand is focusing on math, science, and bilingual education, I feel that even as English educators we have a hopeful future ahead of us. This brings massive relief to my mounting piles of student debt and bills I have to pay off in the years to come. 

 

One of my worst fears is completing my undergraduate degree and getting “out there to the big, bad real world” and not finding or landing a job. It would seriously crash my world. Having this reassurance makes me feel a little better that I will probably not have to deal with that at all, and should instead focus on the places I DO want to apply for a job. If I want to teach in a public high school, what sort of school districts should I look at? What places/schools/jobs would fit me best? How do I even start to LOOK for that type of stuff? I know I’m not going to stay in Colorado to start out my teaching career, and will most likely search overseas for a job (and ultimate abroad experience I never got but really wanted as an undergrad). So, that’s a daunting task in itself. How do I start looking for a job in Germany? Or Australia? Or even New York? How do I know which job is better than the other? How do I narrow my search?

 

And my ultimate question is: will CSU prepare me for all this? Will they tell me how to do this? If I asked my teachers, if I asked Dr. Garcia, would they be able to tell me how?

 

I guess I’ve realized something about myself: I’m not worried about my job at all as soon as I’m a teacher. I hardly have any nervousness or anxiety regarding to running a classroom or coming up with lesson plans. I can deal with that easily and I’m a fast learner–I’ll get the hang of it. I guess I’m mostly concerned about the process that’ll get me there, and making sure I do it right.

 

If you want to read the website, click here.

See you all tomorrow! -Natalie

2 thoughts on “Dude, where’s my classroom?

  1. alexdenu says:

    Natalie,
    Of course i feel the same fears and anxieties as you do, I’m sure that almost all of us in the class do. I also think that almost anyone in any profession feels these fears and i think that the position that we are in (as Ed majors) allows us to feel significantly less afraid than many other job seekers. As you said in your post, teachers are in high demand. By the time we all graduate, i have a feeling that there will be even more of a demand. Not only will schools be looking for qualified individuals here in the states, but there are (and will continue to be) many opportunities to teach in low income or impoverished areas across the globe. Have you ever considered Peace Corps as an option? If not, you should absolutely look into it. They have some amazing opportunities for teachers who are willing to be relocated. Don’t feel alone in your fears! You’re surrounded by many other competent and terrified people.
    – Alex
    Here’s a link for the Peace Corps Ed. page
    http://www.peacecorps.gov/learn/whatvol/edu_youth/

  2. aghaack says:

    Natalie
    Your not alone in your nerves. As Alex said I would be very supprised if anyone else in class is not and I would call them a lier if they said otherwise. Your post and article do make me feel a little better however about finding a job after college. It is still an incredibly never wrecking thought but after reading your post I think that I will be able to sleep a little more soundly tonight. In addition to the questions you raised I would likt to know the answer to one more: when do I need to start looking for a job? I don’t want to end up waiting until the last minute only to find out that this should have started months ago. Anyways as Alex said, you are not alone in your fears. See you in class tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

