High School Never Ends!

First, listen to this song by Bowling For Soup.

Have you at least opened the page and listened to the first few seconds?

Good. 

So, after listening to that, do you agree with it? I certainly do. I’m three years into college – three years out of high school – and I’m still dealing with the same bull shit drama that I tried so hard to leave behind. 

Just last night, while I was still at work at the student Rec Center, I received a lengthy text message from a “friend” who lives in Chicago. I won’t go into the hairy details- (“Oh no, we wanna know what drama is going on! Tell us please?!”) No I won’t because it will only be adding fuel to the fire. (“Oh man… fine :-p”) Sorry. I’m trying to deal with the least amount of drama as possible…. Anyways, my point is, there is an issue being cause by a friend who’s still in high school! all the way in Chicago! Whatthefuck?! So much happened in a few short hours that has caused me stress all today! But, all that has come from what is going on is hurt feelings, miscommunication, frustration, and exasperation.

I hate dealing with drama, especially when it doesn’t need to even be an issue in the first place. I have a really great friend who is the same way about this, and we have gone through a lot of shit together in the last few years, but we’ve dealt with all of it in an ideal way. Obviously miscommunication and misunderstandings and mistakes happen. We’re humans. We fuck up. But, we should learn from those incidences and try to have as little “pathetic” drama as possible – and by pathetic drama I mean: cat fights, boy problems, girl problems, rumors, bullying…. etc. 

No one really likes that stuff unless they aren’t being affected. BUT that’s why the world created reality TV! So we aren’t affected by this mindless crap, and we can just watch other peoples’ problems instead! (In a sad way, it’s genius.)

This ties into education because I want to point out that we are adults…. supposedly, and we are still dealing with shit like this constantly. And as aspiring teachers, we are putting ourselves right back into the war zone of the dreaded drama-war. 

As a college student, I have too much on my plate to put up with unnecessary shit. As a high schooler, even, I didn’t have the time or patience to put up with it. And as a teacher, I won’t put up with it. I don’t want students to have to deal with pointless drama when they have so many other things going on in their lives like tests, college apps, family, finances, identity…. everything. It adds to the stress that no one wants or needs. 

Now, some people like the drama, but they won’t admit it. It is important to be aware of these people in our lives and do our best not to stoop to their level, or get sucked in. I’m not trying to preach about not gossiping, or bullying, or having problems with your friends, or sticking up for your beliefs and arguing with someone. I’m saying that things are handled in ways that are either productive, or pointless and end in hurt/confusion (I’m sure you all know what I mean). Drama is a poison. Just watch “Mean Girls” if you want further elaboration on my point. 

Image

 

 

Leave a Reply

