Pay For Performance

The American Dream. It’s an idea. It’s the idea that people earn their place in society. It means that in America, people should be able to pull themselves up by their bootstraps and achieve something. The American Dream (or so they say) comes from two things: hard work and performing well. Now in our society, this belief often permeates into the work force as well. If you’re good at your job, you (theoretically) should get paid more. For teacher’s however, this is different. Whether or not that’s good or bad is not something I’m here to argue because, frankly, I don’t think I understand enough about the system to argue without looking like an ass.

But it seems like the ideas are shifting about the teaching profession. There’s this thing called “pay-for-performance” which essentially means that teachers, like other jobs, will be paid more based on how well their students perform. It’s a controversial issue, but some districts of Colorado are beginning to implement it.

Here’s the link to the article.

So my question is not whether or not this is the right thing to do; my question is how do we correctly measure this performance? As of now, I’m assuming that test scores are going to be how these teachers are measured. Of course I have a strong opinion on that. I don’t think relying solely on test scores will get you a very accurate reading. There are far too many factors that can corrupt the information. However I think that a mix of test scores AND evaluations would be the better way. Yes, this costs more money but I think getting an accurate reading of which teachers are and aren’t working is important for the kids.

So there you have it. I’m not claiming to have the answers because I know that I’m far from truly understanding what goes on in educational policies. So if you have another idea or disagree completely, there’s a comment box. If you scroll down and write in it, then we can have a conversation…..

 

Do it.

Anna B.

About spiffybanana24

I'm just an English Education student learning to take things one day at a time.

Leave a Reply

