Hot TEXT for teacher?!

After reading Anna’s post, I got thinking about my group’s topic on getting out of sticky situations with students who are being inappropriate towards you. BUT let’s think about the situation if it were the other way around, which in many cases, it is.

What I mean is…teachers aren’t always going to be the innocent ones.

I guess what got me thinking about this situation was this article about social media being used in an unprofessional manner by teachers towards students. I mean clearly these are intentional uses of texting and social media to be inappropriate with a student, BUT I feel as though the line between casual/friendly and creepy/harassment is a thin one nowadays.

 

Image

 I know, I know…you’ll NEVER be that teacher, but in today’s society, anything could be taken as inappropriate conduct towards a student, and we need to watch what we say and what we do verrrry carefully.

This is a common situation..students texting class:

Image

 

But what if a teacher was sending supah, creeptastic texts as so….

Image

 

This doesn’t really count since it was the summer after I graduated from high school, but I had an encounter with one of my teachers that was definitely crossing the line in my mind…

…my Greek and Roman teacher texted me one Summer afternoon and I responded, thinking he was texting me about an upcoming trip to Greece he was planning for the next year’s Spring…I was so wrong.

When I texted him, I had addressed him as Mr. __________, and he texted back saying, “Oh, just call me Jason,” and then went on to ask me if I wanted to hang out with him sometime… 

Even though, I was graduated, I still felt like it wasn’t an appropriate interaction. Even if my teacher was just being friendly and cool because he was a younger teacher, I didn’t get that “friendly” aspect of his texts. This is why texting is dangerous with students. Just don’t do it. It’s too ambiguous at times and it could lead to some serious consequences

 

Consequences that could be even more serious if you don’t have tenure to protect you..

speaking tenure…ya’ll should check out Linda’s Facebook page she made for a Tenure Debate, feel free to voice your opinions on there! 

One thought on “Hot TEXT for teacher?!

  1. fbleam says:

    Yes, that is creepy! haha this reminded me of Pretty Little Liars! I don’t know if you watch that at all, but Aria is in love with her teacher and he is in love with her as well. She is eighteen, but still, they are pretty cute together! BEYOND that little sidetrack, you are right. We definitely need to be more careful with the expanding technology that’s going on. Also thanks for reminding me about Linda’s page! Typical Fairon: to like it and not comment till a week later.

    ~Fairon

Leave a Reply

