Talking to Strangers

As we all know, today is a reading day. No school. My reading day was spent walking around public areas trying to get people to talk with me about teachers for my genre project. Needless to say, I didn’t have a lot of luck. I’m sure most people thought I was affiliated with some political party and quickly ran off. Can’t say I blame them. However one woman at the dog park stopped to talk. After expressing my frustrations in getting people to talk to me she gave me the address of her dad who lived close by.

At first I didn’t really know what to expect. Showing up at someone’s house and saying “I’m here to talk to you about teachers!” seemed slightly weird. However two hours later I can’t say I regret that decision at all.

John is retired Navy, has two masters degrees and has worked many successful jobs. Needless to say, he knows a few things. For two hours I pretty much stood in his garage and listened to his opinions and experiences. He talked about the injustice of underpaying teachers, of the importance of learning how to write, and gave me tips on how to deal with kids (he made an awful lot of military references but they worked well). It really was very interesting and helpful.

The whole purpose of the genre project that I’m doing (you’ll see next week) is to get opinions from the public. I think sometimes, as college students, we tend to live in a bubble. We generally talk with only people who are associated with the college and our majors, which leads to sometimes stagnant conversations. By getting out and talking to random people I wanted to be able to understand how the public sees us as future educators and understand their opinions.

I think that my conversation with John in particular sharpened some of my own opinions about education and life in general. I won’t go into it in detail (after all I need to save some for my project) but it was an eye opening experience.

So I encourage everyone to (like Dr. Garcia has been saying) start having conversations about education with the public. Let them see from your side, as an educator, and be open to seeing their side as well. I think it’s the kind of thing that will help us all to grow.

Until next time and Happy Reading Days!

Anna B.

About spiffybanana24

I'm just an English Education student learning to take things one day at a time.

Leave a Reply

