Universidad de Buenos Aires

Just realized that I’ve been really neglecting this blog. Haven’t blogged anything for over a week and I feel guilty. Sorry, group members! I have a draft about public vs. charter schools in the works, but as of yet I can’t seem to find the motivation to finish it.

 

I just finished my paper #2 project yesterday about global awareness and teaching abroad. I’m really proud of my video, but unfortunately movie maker is having goddamn compatibility errors with Facebook/YouTube and so I haven’t been able to export/publish it for you guys to see. You’ll be able to see it in Monday when I bring it to class, but for now I’m still trying to work out these “compatibility” kinks. I’ll send out a backchannel/Tweet once I get it to work.

 

I guess I want to dedicate this blog to somebody really important in my life. Unfortunately, she’s not here at the moment–she’s been in Argentina for a last few months and will be there until next year. She’s my best friend, and I miss her every single day. We’re the type to be annoyingly inseparable. Natalie and Autumn, two peas in a pod 🙂 She’s been working on her personal blog about her adventures in Argentina, and she’s a much better blogger than I am. I feel inadequate in my skills compared to her. But in our brief (or not so brief, if you don’t consider a 3-and-a-half-hour Skype conversation brief) methods of communications she’s shared with me some of her experiences going to class down in the big BA (Buenos Aires), and how teachers and the school systems are different and yet similar to ours. She visited UBA this week, which is a more traditional Argentinian university than the one she’s currently attending, and sent me a pretty awesome video compilation of some of the classrooms/hallways/common areas of this university. Similar…and yet I couldn’t help but notice the art everywhere on the walls. She explained to me that this university is free. Free. Literally FREE for anybody to attend. And so it “belongs” to the people of Buenos Aires and has a very authentic feel. The coolest part for me was to see the professors speaking solid Spanish (probably very sophisticated, fast Spanish, too). It made me realize how used I am to English and not hearing anything else on a day-to-day basis. I had a moment of sympathy for ELL/ESL students and how they must feel coming here.

And I’m slightly jealous of their “claiming” of this university, and how this isn’t considered vandalism, but an encouraged part of their society.

 

 

Autumn’s adventures in Argentina, and this whole global project, has inspired me to raise awareness about the importance of teaching overseas, and how students across the globe need our help and support. It’s why I’m going overseas, too.  And now more than I’m ever I’m so excited to see Australia, and what sort of differences in schooling await me there. Hopefully, in 3 years, I’ll be here:

In Melbourne 🙂

 

Have a good weekend, CO301D. See you on Monday!

-Natalie

Leave a Reply

