Home Visits

I have to confess that I haven’t logged in to wordswordswords in probably over a week now. I have such a love/hate relationship with blogging and in the past couple weeks it’s tended to be a lot more on the hate side- and by that I mean total detestation, loathing, and sense of dread for blogging, out of the blue. I am at a total loss for inspiration, and quite plainly have nothing to say. So naturally, I was happy to read that Marie was feeling the same way. It’s nice to be able to read someone one else’s writing and realize you’re not alone.

Anyways, I obviously don’t have much to say tonight as I am still left waiting to rediscover the joys of blogging, but I would like to briefly mention one topic-home visits. I was thinking today about the different ways one could make personal connections with every student, and show involvement in each of their lives. Then the notion of home visits popped into my mind. Before last semester, I hadn’t really considered actually doing these. I kind of thought it might be crossing the line, in more ways than one, to invite yourself over to your student’s home. But, I had a professor who insisted on these visits. She said that often times she would invite herself over for a meal, and time to just get to know the families of her students and their individual backgrounds. Obviously, there were some people who absolutely refused, but overall, people were mostly accepting of this idea, and through these visits, my professor gained a whole new understanding and created much more personal connections to every student in her classroom. She said that when she originally began these visits, however, her intentions were not what they came to be. Originally, she started going over to her struggling students’ houses to inform the parents about poor participation, behavior, effort, etc. in her classroom. But when she’d show up and see the disarray of many of these houses and the distress of the families inside them, she realized her complaints about classroom behavior were not what was going to actually help her students, but rather her understanding of what they’re going through in their personal lives and her ability to support them and help them through it. These home visits ended up being some of her greatest experiences as a teacher.

Even though I was originally opposed to this idea, I’ve come to see how beneficial and truly important home visits are. I think they’re one of the best ways to really show you’re students that you’re interested in their lives and that you are a big part of their support system. I know for a fact that I will be suuuper awkward initially in attempting these home visits, and figuring out how to invite myself over, but I think eventually I’ll come to really enjoy them and come to know my students so much better.

Leave a Reply

