Be the Change…

So as we are all very much aware October is Bullying Prevention month so, as I’ve so artfully designed, I’ll be posting on this topic today. On the second to last day of October….Yes this is happening. So I am currently reading a memoir of the actress Portia de Rossi. For those of you who don’t know, Portia has been on shows such as Ally Mcbeal and Arrested Development, and is also the wife of Ellen Degeneres.

Honestly, when I picked up this book I wasn’t sure what to expect. I was intrigued to see things from a different point of view than my own but I was shocked at what I’ve read. Pretty much the biggest focus in the book is about de Rossi’s struggle with extreme eating disorders. She describes every thought, every moment with such self loathing that it’s sometimes rather difficult to read. She very blunt and very real.

Portia de Rossi at roughly 82 pounds

But perhaps what I find most shocking about this book is not her own negative thoughts but the things that other people will say to her. From her descriptions it sounds absolutely awful to be into modeling and Hollywood. People seem to do nothing but put her down.

After reading what I have, I can’t help but feel disgusted with this society that worships the ideal of unrealistically thin female bodies and thinks that it is okay to put others down. So I’d like to take this disgust and channel it into something positive.

Bullying should not be tolerated. Now I know this is sort of a “no duh” moment but honestly how many times do people actually go out of their way to stop it? I’ll admit that there have been times when I’ve seen bullying and didn’t do a thing about it. This makes me just as guilty.

As an educator it is our job to look out for these kids that we teach. School is a rough place. Kids are mean and rumors about people spread quickly. Our biggest mission, aside from teaching the material, should first and foremost be to protect our students. We need to teach them things such as kindness and empathy. And in order to teach this, we must model it. We have to be that example because, without us, there could be a lot of kids who will get hurt or end up with serious self image issues, like Portia de Rossi.

Sorry for the preachy post but I needed to get it out there,

Anna B.

Indifference and neglect often do much more damage than outright dislike

-JK Rowling

About spiffybanana24

I'm just an English Education student learning to take things one day at a time.

Leave a Reply

