Holy Lesson Plan

Howdyy folks,

Well I am sitting in the library right now hatin life and just thought I would write a blog post. I seriously am hating writing lesson plans. It is so much harder than I ever thought it would be. There are so many objectives and statements and GAHHH it is insane the amount of work that goes into planning one days worth of lesson plans. It has really opened my eyes to what I am getting myself into.

Honestly, I have spent like an hour writing ONE DAYs worth of lesson plans and I already want to shoot myself it is so hard. I think its so difficult because I am trying to make sure that my students get everything out of the lesson that they have to get out of it. I feel like I am under so much pressure to teach exactly what is on these plans, I don’t really feel like I have any freedom to veer away from them for a while. I noticed that every objective statement that goes onto your lesson plan starts with this:

1. A stem…so basically all this means is that you have to start your objectives with the same boring sentence in order to meet the many guidelines that we have to meet. Which basically consists of this:

After completing the lesson, the student will be able to . . . blah blah blahh
After this unit, the student will have . . .blahh blaahhh BLAAH
By completing the activities, the student will . . . BLAHHHHHHHHHHH

Pretty generic. and BORING.

2. You then have to add a VERB…(its what cha do) haha i always think of disney channel commercials when i say the word VERB…anyways…you basically just add a verb here that shows what you are assessing.Verbs like:

analyze, recognize, compare, provide etc.

3. then you have to determine what it is exactly that they need to be able to do at the end of the sentence.

VERY TEDIOUS! and annoying and hard and all the above. I understand that it is important to make sure that we have objectives that our students have to reach at the end of a class period. Without goals to target at, our classrooms would have no organization or focus. Which is extremely important. But I didn’t realize that we needed to spend so much time on an everyday basis for lesson plans. I guess i initially thought that lesson plans would go week by week, therefor we could obviously have objectives for each day, but not plan out minute by minute what we are going to be doing every single day. That is definitely going to take some getting used to.

Leave a Reply

