Using Pictures in Writing

The other day I had a few minutes to kill before going out with some friends. I decided to goof around on Pinterest for a little bit and came upon this little gem, The God of Cake. I ended up postponing leaving just so I could finish reading the story; it was literally one of the funniest things I’ve ever read. While the actual text of the story was indeed pretty funny, it was the pictures that made it for me. Seriously though, if you are going to read anything here, read the story.

I’m not sure how old this blogger actually is, but I would speculate that she’s probably in middle school or early high school. I think that random humor is highly characteristic of that age. (and apparently I still think it’s pretty darn funny too…) I also think that the writing sounds like a kid in that age range (it sounds a lot like how my sister writes). To me, the writing is highly mediocre; it has some pretty random word choice. I know that if I were grading this as a creative writing piece I would be writing that infamous “awk” edit all over the place. Like this sentence, “But my mom knew that it was extremely important to keep the cake away from me because she knew that if I was allowed even a tiny amount of sugar, not only would I become intensely hyperactive, but the entire scope of my existence would funnel down to the singular goal of obtaining and ingesting more sugar.” Its super long…I think that a lot of this story contains lengthy lists of adverbs and adjectives. It’s definitely not profound writing or anything, but the pictures! That’s what makes this so unbearably funny! They capture the story in such an amusing way! When the sub-par text is combined with the drawings…PURELY HYSTERICAL.

So what does this have to do with education? I think that I could potentially be a really cool idea to have students illustrate a piece of their writing. Obviously I’m not talking about a research report or a final paper or anything, but maybe to accompany a piece of creative writing or even a book summary. Incorporating a drawing component would be very beneficial for students who are visual learners. It would provide a secondary way to express their ideas and as a second way to understand something. Writing isn’t every student’s strength. As English teachers, writing is obviously the focus, but if we can bring in another component to writing we can give students more options to be successful. I understand that not every kid is an artist, but seriously, look at the pictures in this story. They are some of the most poorly drawn things I have ever seen, but that just adds to the humor. Also there are so many web applications, like Pixton, where students can generate pictures without actually drawing.

Okay, wrapping it all up, I really just wanted to share this story with you all! I do think that pictures can add a lot to written text and that this is an idea we should try and incorporate in our classrooms.
~Marie

One thought on “Using Pictures in Writing

  1. lexyeaggs says:

    haha i just have to say i LOVE ally of hyperbole and a half, i’ve been following her posts since i was a senior in high school. shes actually probably in her mid twenties…. you should check out this gem of a video; watching her personality makes all of her weird writing make sense…http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B6koLuqwS-8

Leave a Reply

