Fall Break, Three Day Break…. Hell, I’ll Take Anything!

As we’ve all made it very apparent, we’re all long overdue for a break from school….. Yet, we are still slammed with assignments, looming papers, projects, tests, etc. So its a break from class, but not a real break to catch up on lost sleep/get healthy again/recuperate/regenerate. (Disclaimer: I am not moaning about our project for this class. There are other things that build up and need attention over break, too.) Its like Marie said in her most recent post, “I can either enjoy life, spending time with my family and flunk out of school or I can get good grades and sacrifice my break. Looks like I’m going to have to chose the latter.” No one wants that but it is turning out to be the norm in schools. When there’s a three day weekend, teacher assign a little extra homework to keep students busy. 

I had one of the most amazing words spoken to me in my EDUC 340 class. Today, Dr. Seahorn told our class we didn’t have to do any reading because Fall break was a time to relax. It is a well earned and deserved break after pushing ourselves so hard this whole semester. She also told us we wouldn’t have to read anymore chapters or do more homework for the last few classes of the semester because she wanted to prepare us for the final exam and review all we’ve covered in 13 weeks. 

Image

Best feeling EVER!

As a student, it made me feel like Dr. Seahorn really understands, and takes her job seriously with concern for her students and their wellbeing (not that other teachers don’t). It is just nice to know that she knows how stressed we all are and wants us to enjoy our time with our families. 

It made me think about how I’ll approach “breaks” and days off. I don’t want my students to not rehearse information, because repetition furthers learning and processes information into their long-term memory. But I also don’t want to drive my students into the ground. And, to be realistic, more students procrastinate. Its as simple as that.

Image

No matter how much time they have, most things are put off until the night before – or two nights before if you’re lucky.

Image

I’m not saying I want to shorten time I give students because I know it doesn’t matter anyway, but I also don’t want to let myself believe that my students will really spend the extra day for their three-day weekend doing that extra workload. It’ll be that much more homework for them to do on that extra night. 

Overall, I just want this week to be over, and I want to begin a new semester so I can try to stay on top of my shit and stop procrastinating as much as possible……. *pfffttttt sure sure*

-Tara

One thought on “Fall Break, Three Day Break…. Hell, I’ll Take Anything!

  1. Gale says:

    fantastic put up, very informative. I ponder why the opposite experts of this sector
    do not realize this. You must proceed your writing.
    I’m confident, you have a huge readers’ base already!

Leave a Reply

