Presentation Relfection

So Alex and I gave our presentation on Monday. We had started working on this presentation a year in advance, before we even knew each other, and so it was wonderful to see our planning sessions and crazed, whiteboard using all-nighters in the library pay off.

(Picture of one of our bi-weekly plan seshes)

We both had felt that we would be more content with leading a more exploratory type lesson than a large discussion, and so to see the enthusiasm that everyone dived into it with was truly rewarding: I freaking loved when Margot used an accent, and I would pay to hear the phrase “Allegory Shmallegory” used again.

I think my favorite section of the discussion was the wheel of misfortune. Many moons ago, I read about the book Looking For Alaska being banned in Tennessee, and that really got me thinking. When, if ever, should a book be banned?

If we could ban books, I’d have a few choice options.

50 Shades of Gray, because I have seen an uncomfortable amount of women reading it in the waiting area of my hair salon.

Twilight, because I believe that it should be a prerequisite that only when an author understands correct sentence structure should they be allowed to publish a book.

Total Frat Move, because I am pretty sure that it was NOT written satirically.

And, this book. Just as Nostradamus predicted.

 

But, even saying this, I say it as I say most things: Jokingly. You can absolutely read these books, just expect me to love you a little less. (Not joking)

As Alex and I were working on this, I came to the realization that I think that you should be allowed to have access to any book at any time. There is no book that really truly should be banned. I wish that books like the ones written by say, the American Nazi Party, would be banned but everyone is entitled to their own opinion, and books are just an extension of thought and speech, and so subjects like that are going to be unpreventable.

I keep thinking of the idea of putting ratings on books, and whether I like that or not. I think it would be a good way of catagorizing, but no child should be restricted from reading anything.

Its actually been pretty neat for me to realize how open the world of literature really is. Things seem to slip under the radar all the time, and you can read just about anything. Its funny that people have regulated books less than they regulate movies; after all, books have been around for much, much longer.

Finally, one thing that the discussion left me with that I really loved what was Megan said, that it almost says more about society by what books are banned than by what is allowed.

As progressive as I think America is, books like “Hunger Games” and “Looking for Alaska” being banned shed an interesting light on the powers that be.

Thanks again, 301d, for a great day in class. And a big thank you for being angry townspeople, if only for a few minutes 🙂

Leave a Reply

