Who’s Afraid of the Big Bad Wolf…I Am!

Fear is a necessary side effect of the human condition. We all are afraid of something. But what purpose do fears serve apart scaring the living daylights out of us? Can fear be a good thing?

To answer these questions I’ll tell you some of my fears. I’d like to start by issuing a disclaimer. About 90% of my fears are stupid and irrational. I’m far more terrified of things that will probably never kill me than things that I should actually be concerned about. I’m a living breathing  fear paradox and these are some of them.

1) Mannequins

Seriously who made these? They look like humans minus the face and skin color. I swear I’m just waiting for the day that one of these walks off the display stand and kills us all. KILLS US ALL!

How is this not creepy?

How is this not creepy?

2) Cornfields

Nothing good ever happens in a corn field….

3) Mirrors

Okay so I fear mirrors for three very distinct reasons…

Exhibit A. Two way mirrors. I don’t know who’s on the other side watching. I’ve seen CSI. I know what goes down.

Exhibit B. Imagine driving your car at night. Everything’s cool until BAM! you look in your rear-view mirrors and there’s a dude in your backseat. Or you look up from washing your face and there’s a person in your bathroom. No thank you mirror. I don’t want to see a murderer in my personal space.

Exhibit C. Creepy phantom men sing to you from inside of a mirror and then take you into their creepy opera house layer. Phantom of the Opera is obviously based on a true story. I’m not risking that.

Seriously, didn't people tell her not to follow masked men into dungeons? So dumb.

Seriously, didn’t people tell her not to follow masked men into dungeons? So dumb.

4) Voldemort

Okay so this one is kind of a mixed reaction. If I ever saw Voldemort I would probably be overcome with terror but at the same time filled with an undescribable excitement because he was real. So basically I would probably die, but I would be happy about it.

5) Airplanes

I know that you have a better chance of being killed by a car than one of these but I think it’s the whole thought of being 30,000 FEET ABOVE THE GROUND! After living in Florida and having a best friend that lives in Texas, you think I’d be used to these but I’m not. Terrifying. Absolutely terrifying.

This is pretty much how I feel every flight I take

This is pretty much how I feel every flight I take

6) Unexplained Fog

Obviously this means dementors are near.

And finally….

7) Swimming in bodies of water

Maybe this is just some leftover fear from living in Orlando, but I won’t swim in lakes or anything of the sort. In Florida it’s pretty much a well known rule that if there’s water, there’s a gator. If I can’t see what’s under me, I don’t like it. That’s all I need is for some prehistoric creature to swim up from the depths of Horsetooth and eat me.

Oh hell no.

Oh hell no.

Looking at some of my fears written out into a list, I have to say that I feel kind of stupid. Who is afraid of mirrors? Logically I know that some masked man isn’t going to appear in my mirror but the fear is still there. How can this irrational fear help me? Well I’ve always been a steadfast believer in confronting fears.

I think that every fear which we are able to face we become a better, stronger person. I don’t go out of my way to avoid mannequins at the store (I just keep a very close eye on them), I confront them. I swim in random bodies of water even though it freaks me out (I do however always have an exit strategy). And…well…if Voldemort suddenly appeared I’m not sure what I would do, but you get the idea.

But what about those fears that aren’t concrete? I’m scared of losing people I love or being isolated from them. I’m afraid of not being accepted for who I am. I’m scared of hurting others unintentionally. And finally, I’m terrified of becoming a teacher. There isn’t any concrete object that I can face and a lot of these situations never get easier, despite having faced them before.

However I still have to face them. Yes I’m terrified of becoming a bad teacher but that’s not going to stop me from trying to be a good one. Our lives can’t be defined by fear but fear is necessary in our lives.

Because without fear, how do we know what’s really worth it?

So class let’s think about what scares us and how that can help us grow.

Tell me about your fears!

-Anna B.

About spiffybanana24

I'm just an English Education student learning to take things one day at a time.

2 thoughts on “Who’s Afraid of the Big Bad Wolf…I Am!

  1. tseyffert says:

    Anna, I just want to reassure you that all of your fears are completely legitamate and I am afraid of most of the same things! Who wouldda thunk?!
    But really, I think its good to know what we are afraid of so that at least we are aware of it, and can slowly build up our tolerance….. or at least be strong-headed enough and stubborn to tell people “hell no I’m not swimming in that lake because I’m scared of what I can’t see!” I’m right there with you and would rather sit on the side while others are eaten by that damned sneaky shark!

  2. kreidern says:

    Hey Anna!
    I understand your fears. They are legitimate. Here might be some solutions:

    1. Mannequins: carry a Sharpie around and draw happy faces on them. Or, as the old wise Professor Lupin taught us, make the scary funny. Put the mannequins into sexual positions or make them dance to thriller. That would make me less afraid…until they came for revenge.

    2. Cornfields: Never watch Signs. Also, driving a monster jeep through the cornfield would be helpful. Nothing can appear that you can’t squish with those beast-tires.

    3. Mirrors: So long as you don’t break one, bad luck sightings in these babies probably won’t happen. One good thing about spotting something behind you in the bathroom mirror is that it gives you the heads up, and so you can quickly grab a metal nail file and start stabbing the fool.

    4. Voldemort: Become a Death Eater and be Voldemort’s best friend–no harm can come to you there until Harry Potter comes after you. And then you can convince him you were a spy like Snape 🙂

    5. Airplanes: Take a sedative and pass out. That’s the only advice I can give you–I’m terrified of flying. Especially landings…approaching the ground faster and faster the wheels squealing against the pavementohmygodtheplaneisshakingandbumpingeverywherewedidn’tlandright–WE’RE ALL GONNA DIE!!

    6. Unexplained fog: Never see the Shrine. The fog=death and possession and creepy statues that follow you. If dementors are coming, you know the petronous spell. Have no fear, a spirit vapor-like animal will come save you!

    7. Swimming in bodies of water: I’m just glad most giant water-dwellers are extinct. The most that will bite you in Horsetooth is a fish…but that’s dangerous enough for me. If a fish bit me I’d freak out. Just sayin’

Leave a Reply

