Study Abroad, and weird duck metaphors.

You’ve gotta forgive me if this post seems jumbled and confusing. I’m running on fumes here and it’s significantly harder to focus at the end of this semester because i’m leaving in a month and a half to study in Prague! Crazy, i know. I still haven’t totally wrapped my head around the idea that i’ll actually be in a foreign country where i don’t know a soul and the inly language that i know is how to say “One beer please.” that should get me through, right? But im pushing to get through these last papers and tests so tat i can get all of my ducks in a row for going abroad. But what do i need to do to get my ducks in that row? What if my ducks don’t want to go in a row? What if my ducks don’t know how to speak Czech and don’t know anyone within thousands of miles that they’re studying? My ducks are a little overwhelmed. My ducks are trying to get this last blog post up but it’s tough because they just keep talking about ducks and aren’t really making any significant point. 

It will be absolutely awesome to learn how an entirely new culture operates, and it’ll also be interesting to try and integrate myself into this new culture and forget the ways of the United States for 6 months. This experience will hopefully allow me to broaden my horizons and hopefully become more culturally aware and all of these things will hopefully one day make me a better teacher, but honestly i’m not really focusing on that right now. I really do hope that at the end of my experience when i’m back in the US that ill be able to reflect on all of the things that happened and somehow be able to integrate them into my teaching philosophies, but while i’m over there i can see how it’ll be tough to focus on how everything will affect my profession. But i’m not worried about that! My time in Prague will absolutely present opportunities on opportunities on opportunities to strengthen skills that will lead to me being a more successful teacher. I just went to my pre-departure meeting so i’m all amped up on Czech adrenaline right now so i apologize if this post doesn’t have a central point, but I’m going to Prague!!! Hopefully my ducks will be oriented by the time i actually have to get on the plane and take off. Ducks are a metaphor for me, by the way. 

Image

 

About alexdenu

Senior english major at Colostate University. Publishing, self-publishing, e-books, OCR corrections, reading, lit analysis etc.

2 thoughts on “Study Abroad, and weird duck metaphors.

  1. kszejna says:

    Alex- Remember how no one ever comments on our posts? Here I am, commenting on your post. 🙂 First of all, take a deep breath, your ducks will be just fine (you just need that handy-dandy neck pouch!!!). I left that meeting so stressed and worried too. We have a lot to get done in a short amount of time, but it will be so worth it! By the way we can have a beer (because you will be old enough when you get home) and reverse cultural shock together. 🙂

  2. lexyeaggs says:

    i’m sure you’ll be able to get everything all figured out in time. this great experience will be one that’ll surely give you a great oppurtunity to see what it looks like to see other ducks, just making their way in this world, in another country.
    i think your ducks will be underwhelmed with your 21st birthday, but otherwise i bet your ducks are going to have a blast.
    ps. in case you are wondering yes i did only reply to this post because i was intrigued by/wanted to excessively use the word ducks.

    ducks ducks ducks

Leave a Reply

